My year as president of the congregation is nearing an end. Stacy Yoder starts his term as president on June 1. Stef Nicovich ended his year as president, and I started my year with the congregation choosing our new name : Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Lynchburg. Last fall under Makanah Morris’s leadership, we renovated the lower level of Unitarian House. We are happy that a young member of our congregation has leased the space. We also have rented a spare RE room to a music teacher for use other than on Sunday mornings. It is good for our spaces to have more use. Soon, we will raise funds to repair the sanctuary bell tower. Our sanctuary building is nearly 100 years old and our congregation is over
110 years old.

Many members have served on the board over these years in various capacities. I encourage each of us to say yes to service on the board; on a committee; as a teacher or helper in RE. Truly, the more you give the more you receive. Friendships form and grow as you serve with others. I hope you have found and continue to find this a caring community of kind-hearted and spiritually and intellectually curious persons
who also love to have good times together.

Speaking of good times together, I hope you will participate in our Marvelous May service and goods auction. On Saturday, May 4, a lasagna dinner will be served at 5:30 pm followed by a live auction for some of the donated items. It will be a fun filled evening with great food. There will be a Zoom link for folks who can’t attend in person. Of course you can bid online for items not included in the live auction starting Sunday, April 28th and continuing through Monday, May 6th.

The annual meeting to elect officers will be on Sunday, May 19th immediately after the service. The congregation’s board meets on the second Wednesday of each month. If you have business for us to consider or you wish to attend, please let me know at

As we continue to work for justice and live love in the world, may we remember that together we are stronger.

Blessed be,
Betty Corbin, President